The Suite is an arrangement of well-known French classical and popular pieces, including Bizet's "L'Arlesienne," Offenbach's "Can-Can," Debussy's "Clair de Lune," "Alouette,” “Brother John," and the French National Anthem. The arrangement is designed for mixed-level student groups. The beginning string parts are open strings and the advanced part includes third position. It is ideal for combining Suzuki classes or school string orchestra. Parts include advanced violin, first violin, second violin, elementary violin (on the level of Suzuki Book 1), viola (with optional third violin part), cello, double bass, beginning violin, viola, and cello, and optional piano part. This is a fun way to introduce your students to French music and encourage discussion of French culture. The suite can be performed in its entirety or each piece can be performed separately. Complete score, piano part, and one copy of each string part are included. Total duration is about 8 minutes.

French Suite for Mixed-Level String Ensemble


    Sheila Santa, Professional Violinist

    Columbus and Lima, Ohio

    Thank you. It is a lovely arrangement!

    Cathy Stevens, Director

    Panama City Youth Orchestra, Florida

    LOVE your product! It's going to be a huge help in programming for our mixed level group. 

    Marcella Trentacosti, Youth Concert Orchestra Conductor

    Fort Wayne, Indiana

    "The arrangements by Steven Kruse are wonderful! I love how the arrangements include all levels! My beginners really enjoyed being part of the string orchestra!"

    Alicia Tremmel, Director of Orchestras

    Mansfield Public Schools, Mansfield, Ohio

    "Absolutely LOVE IT! It will be so perfect. I will have all my students 3-12 play it. I am so excited to get started on it. It will be perfect and I think I will make it the finale for the concert. Thank you so much!"

    Mark Mutter, Executive Director, Suzuki Royal Oak

    Royal Oak, Michigan

    "Thank you so much for all of this music.

    The arrangement looks awesome I can’t wait to start it next week."


    Toledo Symphony School of Music

    Toledo, Ohio

    "Thank you Dr. Kruse for your wonderful arrangements!"

    Please reload

    • Twitter Classic
    • Facebook Classic